Johnny Rodgers Celebrates EP Releases With NYC Birdland Concert

New CDs Feature Guest Artists Liza Minnelli & Ben Taylor Coincides With Johnny’s Debut On Broadway in Liza’s New Show
Jim Caruso’s Cast Party is proud to announce nationally acclaimed award winning singer/songwriter/pianist Johnny Rodgers special performance at Manhattan’s premier club Birdland, 315 W. 44th Street, in New York on Monday, December 29 at 7:00pm. Rodgers will be celebrating the release of two new CD releases. Due to the high demand for his special event, reservations are highly recommended by calling 212-581-3080. You can also visit for further information.
The first release is the CD EP Bound Together by the Johnny Rodgers Band: Johnny Rodgers on vocals and piano, Brian Glassman on double bass, Danny Mallon on drums, Joe Ravo on guitar. The EP contains four brand new songs. The catchy title cut and rallying call for world unity; Cry For Freedom, shaded in Pink Floyd/Beatlesesque sounds; The Best Of You In Me, a touching ballad and tribute to those who helped form each of us; and Lord Let The Angels Sing, a new Christmas song and destined to be classic, featuring guest artist Ben Taylor (son of music icons Carly Simon and James Taylor).
Johnny’s second EP Let’s Make A Date, featuring guest artist Oscar, Tony, Emmy and Grammy winning superstar Liza Minnelli. The release coincides with Rodgers’ Broadway debut in Minnelli’s new show at The Palace Theatre, December 2008. The duo is backed by the Johnny Rodgers Band and Liza’s musical mentor, her longtime musical director, the late Bill “Pappy” Lavorgna, on drums. What is one of his last recordings, Lavorgnia had worked with such musical icons as Frank Sinatra, Sammy Davis Jr., Peggy Lee and her mother Judy Garland. Rodgers has been featured and toured North and South America and Europe with Minnelli and her orchestra. The EP also contains Johnny’s rousing cover of the Randy Newman song You Can Leave Your Hat On. Rodgers has performed that song at many of Minnelli’s concerts, accompanied by Liza’s dance steps.

Produced by Richard Barone (of The Bongos) the recordings are available on iTunes,, and

Post a Comment

Your email is never shared. Required fields are marked *


  • Free Stuff
  • HOME
  • New Home
  • NEWS
  • TOUR
  • Awards
  • Band
  • Discography
  • Feature
  • Johnny Only
  • News
  • Reviews
  • Scroller
  • Theatre
  • 2015
  • 2014
  • 2013
  • 2012
  • 2011
  • 2010
  • 2009
  • 2008